So you may have used Library Search to look for ebooks and journals, and you may be a regular in The Hive to borrow textbooks. But what else do you need? Here’s a bunch of other things we highly recommend whether you are undergrad, postgrad, just starting out or are thinking about your third year….
British Education Index
Did you know that Library Search is a bit like Google, but for library resources? It’ll find journal articles, books, ebooks and other sources which are pulled in from our library catalogue, and various publisher collections and research databases. One research database worth a look on its own is British Education Index, which provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. It covers all aspects of education from preschool to higher education. If you can’t download a PDF of an article, then try clicking the ‘Check 360 Link’ option at the bottom of any reference. We may have a subscription elsewhere (SAGE Journals, Wiley, or Taylor & Francis are common routes for Education journals). ERIC is a similar database with a more international flavour.
A brilliant but lesser-known resource, Childlink offers news, practice, policy and research updates in the fields of education, families, children and welfare. Great for current awareness and email alerts.
This collection in The Hive is a veritable Aladdin’s cave of treasures for any teacher or practitioner. Found on Level 1 at the far end of the children’s library, it contains fiction, non-fiction, teacher resources, artefact collections, big books and picturebooks for children and adults of all ages! The library also has a number of subscriptions to subject associations and subject-specific publications – details on your Education subject guide.
Keep up to date and get to know journals in your field of study
And finally… do yourself a favour and sign up for email alerts offered by organisations like NFER, and services like JournalTOCs. The latest reports, research and journal contents will fly into your inbox! Details of these and other useful websites can be found here.