Library Services provides a range of resources to supplement the resources available to you from your local provider.
If you are studying a University of Worcester course with a partner not listed below, you can find resources via Library Search. If you are not local to Worcester, see our services for distance learners. Contact Ros Sykes, Partnerships and Transitions Liaison Librarian, if you need Library Services support.
Please use our Registered with a Partner webpage if you are studying a University of Worcester course with:
This information and resources below are for you if you are studying a University of Worcester course with:
Our introductory video (3:29) shows you how to log into eresources and avoid some common pitfalls. Our eresources work best with Chrome and Firefox browsers.
You will need your University of Worcester login details to access our online resources. Add @uni.worc.ac.uk to the end of your University of Worcester username to log in, for example:
If you are logging into VLEbooks and you are asked for a Institution ID. select the Office 365 sign in instead. If you are using a mobile phone, you will need to scroll down to find this.
If you have any problems accessing Worcester eresources, let Ros know
We would love to welcome you in our joint University and County Council library, The Hive, if you are able to visit. As a partner student you can borrow up to 12 standard loan items and three University high demand items. When you visit for the first time bring ID showing your name and address and ask staff to create a partner student library account for you. You will be able to view your partner student library account details, place reservations (video 1:23) and renew your loans via The Hive library catalogue. Please check our current coronavirus related service update and our Keeping You Safe video (video: 2:06) when planning your visit.
Open Access ebooks can be found via the Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB), OAPEN, and Springer Open Access Books. In addition, the Open Library provides free access for registered users to a range of ebooks that can be borrowed and read online.
Search ERIC for education related resources.
Open Access search engines Core, Unpaywall, BASE, OA Button and OAIster bring together freely available resources from across subject areas. PubMed Central (PMC) does similar for biomedical and life sciences. Content includes open access articles, books chapters, theses, dissertations and research.
UK theses and dissertations can be found on EThOS. Use DART-Europe to search for European theses. OhioLINK has some US content. OATD brings together theses from around the world. The NDLTD provides a comprehensive list of dissertation repositories globally. You will find abstracts and some full text on all these sites.
Cite Them Right Online provides the style guide for Harvard referencing at the University of Worcester. Cite Them Right Online shows you how to reference everything from books to body-art. An interactive referencing tutorial is included.
The University of Worcester short guide to Harvard referencing is a useful quick reference guide. Our referencing FAQs show you how to reference documents such as the National Curriculum, a school policy, or a Mintel marketing report.
Partnership and Transitions Liaison Librarian
Ask me about how to search effectively, how to evaluate sources for academic study and how to reference your sources. Contact me with any queries about our resources and services for students studying with partner organisations.