Library Search is the best place to start looking for academic books, e-books, journals and other sources. Sometimes you may want to do more targeted searches within a research database, specifically for journal articles. We have listed some of our favourite research databases for education in the box below (Journals and research). For a complete list of the University's subscription databases, visit the A-Z Databases page.
Need some (library) support?
Contact Sarah Purcell or Hannah Hickman for more advice on searching for your assignment, research topic or area of interest. We also help with referencing and are happy to answer any questions you have.
Need to know how to find resources?
Check out our YouTube videos which show you how to get the best from the library.
Library Search offers a comprehensive method of searching and accessing the major publisher collections and research databases relevant to Education and Early Childhood. There are a small number of resources and journals which will not appear in Library Search results - just ask Sarah and Hannah for more information.
...you can search within most journals by using a publication title field search in Library Search? Give it a try:
PublicationTitle:(studies in science education)
Copy and paste this into the Library Search box, replacing the journal title with the one you need. To check for an online subscription to any journal title, search for it on our A-Z subscription list.
Looking for information on how to reference?
See our Referencing page and Cite Them Right Online. Below you'l find loads of examples of how to reference Government policy, papers and legislation. Check here first before you ask, we might have the answer!
National Curriculum, EYFS and essential documents
Department for Education (2011) Teachers' Standards. Available at: https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/teachers-standards (Accessed: 24 May 2017).
Department for Education (2013) The National Curriculum in England: Key Stages 1 and 2 framework document. Available at: www.gov.uk/government/publications/national-curriculum-in-england-primary-curriculum (Accessed: 13 December 2016). (Subject programmes of study are also available on this webpage.)
Department for Education (2014) The National Curriculum in England: Key Stages 3 and 4 framework document. Available at: https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/national-curriculum-in-england-secondary-curriculum (Accessed: 13 December 2016). (Subject programmes of study are also available on this webpage.)
Department for Education (2017) Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage. Available at: https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/early-years-foundation-stage-framework--2 (Accessed: 23 October 2017). [The EYFS document was published in 2014, and last updated in March 2017, with these updates coming into effect in April 2017.]
National Association of Head Teachers (NAHT) et al. (2016) Professional standards for teaching assistants. Available at: http://www.naht.org.uk/welcome/news-and-media/key-topics/staff-management/professional-standards-for-teaching-assistants-published/ (Accessed: 13 December 2016). (Please read our FAQ about the background to this source.)
If you need to reference a school's inspection report, first you may want to check with your tutors about whether the school needs to be anonymised in your work. If you need to keep a report or other resources anonymous, you may instead wish to use an Appendix. See this FAQ for details.
Most Ofsted reports can be referenced using a 'webpage' format as per your Harvard guide:
Ofsted (YYYY) Document title. Available at: URL (Accessed: day month year).
Phonics and reading
Department for Children, Schools and Families (2008) Letters and sounds: principles and practice of high quality phonics - phase one teaching programme. Available at: https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/letters-and-sounds-principles-and-practice-of-high-quality-phonics-phase-one-teaching-programme (Accessed: 13 December 2016).
Department for Education and Standards and Testing Agency (2014) Teaching phonics: information for schools. Available at: https://www.gov.uk/government/collections/phonics (Accessed: 13 December 2016). (This page contains links to individual documents which should be referenced separately.)
Department of Education and Science (1975) A language for life. (The Bullock Report). London: Her Majesty’s Stationery Office. Available at: http://www.educationengland.org.uk/documents/bullock/bullock1975.html (Accessed: 24 May 2017).
Rose, J. (2006) Independent review of the teaching of early reading. Final report. Available at: http://dera.ioe.ac.uk/5551/2/report.pdf (Accessed: 25 April 2017).
Department for Education and Department of Health (2015) Special educational needs and disability code of practice: 0 to 25 years. Available at: https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/send-code-of-practice-0-to-25 (Accessed: 13 December 2016).
Griggs, J. and Bussard, L. (2017) Study of Early Education and Development (SEED): meeting the needs of children with special educational needs and disabilities in the early years. Available at: https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/children-with-send-meeting-their-needs-in-the-early-years (Accessed: 29 March 2017).
Standards and Testing Agency (2016) The Rochford Review: final report. Available at: https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/rochford-review-final-report (Accessed: 13 December 2016).
Department for Education (2017) Early years workforce strategy. Available at: https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/early-years-workforce-strategy (Accessed: 29 March 2017).
Research papers related to SEED (Study of Early Education and Development) found here.
Prevent and safeguarding
Department for Education (2015) The prevent duty: departmental advice for schools and childcare providers. Available at: https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/protecting-children-from-radicalisation-the-prevent-duty (Accessed: 13 December 2016). [For the full reference for the Prevent Strategy consultation document, see Green and White Papers, below.]
Munro, E. (2011) The Munro review of child protection: final report. A child-centred system (Cm 8062). Available at: https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/175391/Munro-Review.pdf (Accessed: 25 April 2017).
Department for Business, Innovation and Skills (2016) Higher education: success as a knowledge economy - white paper (Cm 9258). Available at: https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/higher-education-success-as-a-knowledge-economy-white-paper (Accessed: 2 November 2017).
Department for Business, Innovation and Skills (2015) Fulfilling our Potential: Teaching Excellence, Social Mobility and Student Choice - green paper (Cm 9141). Available at: https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/474266/BIS-15-623-fulfilling-our-potential-teaching-excellence-social-mobility-and-student-choice-accessible.pdf (Accessed: 2 November 2017).
Department for Education (2016) Educational excellence everywhere (Cm 9230). Available at: https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/educational-excellence-everywhere (Accessed: 13 December 2016).
HM Government (2011) Prevent Strategy (Cm 8092). Available at: https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/97976/prevent-strategy-review.pdf (Accessed: 6 November 2017).
Other popular / frequently asked about reports
Rose, J. (2009) Independent review of the primary curriculum: final report. Available at: http://webarchive.nationalarchives.gov.uk/20130401151715/https:/www.education.gov.uk/publications/standard/publicationDetail/Page1/DCSF-00499-2009 (Accessed: 25 April 2017).
Rose, J. (2008) Independent review of the primary curriculum: interim report. Available at: http://www.educationengland.org.uk/documents/pdfs/2008-IRPC-interim-report.pdf (Accessed: 25 April 2017).
Steer, A. (2009) Learning Behaviour: Lessons Learned: A review of behaviour standards and practices in our schools. Available at: http://webarchive.nationalarchives.gov.uk/20130323082043/https://www.education.gov.uk/publications/eOrderingDownload/DCSF-Learning-Behaviour.pdf (Accessed: 23 October 2017).
Education is a shifting field heavily impacted by changes in the political landscape, so keep up to date with current policy changes and research here. These news feeds cover a variety of education disciplines, including primary, secondary, early childhood and higher education.
Let the latest news come to you!
Department for Education: Children and Young People
The NFER Blog (National Foundation for Educational Research)
BBC: Education news
The Guardian : Education news (Visit the website for links to the HE Network and Teacher Network)
Education Scotland (the national body in Scotland for supporting quality and improvement in learning and teaching)
The Internet may be the only place you'll find key Government papers as well as research papers from organisations like TACTYC (the Association for Professional Development in Early Years) and NFER. We've also set up a customised Google search dedicated to research-relevant websites.
BERA (2011) Ethical Guidelines for Educational Research. Available at: www.bera.ac.uk/researchers-resources/publications/bera-ethical-guidelines-for-educational-research-2011
Chartered College of Teaching : an 'independent chartered organisation for the teaching profession' which succeeds the College of Teachers. Materials from the Cambridge Primary Review (CPR/CPRT) have been archived and are available via the Chartered College of Teaching (membership required).
Education Endowment Foundation (EEF): evidence-informed decision making for teachers. Take a look at the school themes and toolkits, and their news blog. Email alerts available!
EPPI-Centre: systematic reviews and evidence to inform policy and professional practice. Useful for anyone undertaking a systematic literature review and wants to see how its done.
Nursery World : access selected articles from this publication here (2014-present, 'Nursery World Select'). Access to our subscription is also available via the Nursery World website. If required, click 'Sign In' (top right), then 'Institution Sign In', find University of Worcester and click 'Log in' to use your usual university username and password.
Optimus Education Knowledge Centres: four knowledge centres and a regular blog. Useful for SEN, safeguarding and leadership. Email firstname.lastname@example.org for login details.
TED Talks (Education) : "These TED Talks explore the latest thinking - from teachers, parents, kids - on how to build a better school."
FORUM for promoting 3-19 comprehensive education: an academic journal available through the Symposium site and not on Library Search.
GAP (Good Autism Practice): an academic journal available through the Ingenta site and not on Library Search.
To support you with the practical side of learning to teach, we have an extensive collection of teaching resources for all subjects near the children’s library in The Hive: the Teaching Collection. Here you'll find everything from sensory blocks, flashcards and Roman helmets, to big books, storysacks and textbooks. We have a webpage dedicated to the Teaching Collection, which offers inspiration for your lesson planning and research.
Click this link for a customised Google Search. This searches selected websites for teaching ideas and classroom resources.
Children's literature inspiration:
Subject associations: follow this link for further information on what they offer and options for personal membership.
Are you a member of UW staff hoping to order resources for the library, or simply need some ideas? Please see our visual list of bookmarks for publishers and suppliers.