Skip to main content

Subject guides

Page title


Want to 'dig' up some information? You've come to the right place!

Find the books on your resource lists, search through thousands of journals or use the primary research materials available through Archives and Archaeology Service at The Hive.

Library Search is the best place to start looking for academic books, e-books, journals and other sources. You can find guidance on developing effective search strategies on our Study Skills pages.

We have a wealth of archaeology resources, largely in Levels 2 and 3. Find your shelf with our guides to The Hive.

Tabs 2

Digital resources and data

A select, subject-specific list of resources relating to archaeology research and finds.


Journals are an essential scholarly resource, providing you with access to current, peer-reviewed research. These links will take you to a list of individual titles relating to Archaeology.

Journal databases

These links will take you to various collections of journals and ebooks held in databases, covering relevant material.

Citation indexes and current awareness

These databases track titles, abstracts, and citations of academic works. This is a useful way of finding articles that have been highly referenced, discovering new references, and staying up to date with newly published articles. 

Archives and Archaeology at The Hive

The Archive and Archaeology Service (also called 'Explore the Past') is home to the Worcestershire Archive and Archaeology Service.

Under their care thousands of archaeological sites, historic buildings and landscapes are recorded and 12 miles of original archives are collected and preserved. These are made available to customers under the guidance of friendly, knowledgeable and experienced staff. All types of research on Worcestershire people and places can be undertaken using the comprehensive resources of the Historic Environment Record and the archive collections. This is a fantastic resource - you are able to use the archaeology library, talk to archaeologists and access the archaeological record.

For more information, opening hours and to search their catalogue, please go to the Archive and Archaeology Service website.

Research Collections at the University of Worcester

The Library of the Worcestershire Archaeological Society (WAS) is housed at the University. The collection comprises of rare books, research materials and newsletters concerning the history and archaeology of the county. The WAS collection can be consulted by both society members and the public

For more information on the WAS collection, as well as information on access and use, please see the Research Collections website. 

Need help? Just ask!


Academic writing

Book an appointment with the Writers in Residence or the Language Centre for advice on improving your academic writing. Please note that these aren't proof-reading services!

Advice is also available on the Study Skills website.

Using the library

For guidance on journals, searching databases and finding full-text articles, please see our video playlist.

Loading ...

Shona Raymond

Academic Liaison Librarian

My appointment times

The Hive Level 3 askalibrarian

Tue 6 Mar 2pm - 4pm *Drop-in, Riverside Learning Exchange* 
Thur 8 Mar 4pm - 7pm

Tue 13 Mar 1.30pm - 4pm *Drop-in, Edward Elgar Main Reception, St John's Campus*

Thur 15 Mar 1pm - 4pm 
Tue 20 Mar 1pm - 4pm

Ask Shona a question or book an appointment

Hannah Hickman

Academic Liaison Librarian

Appointments and drop-ins

The Hive Level 3 askalibrarian

Fri 23 Mar 2018 4pm - 7pm 
Tue 03 Apr 2018 4pm - 7pm 
Fri 06 Apr 2018 10am - 1pm
Tue 10 Apr 2018 4pm - 7pm 

Fri 13 Apr 2018 1pm - 4pm
Tue 17 Apr 2018 10am - 1pm 
Mon 23 Apr 2018 1pm - 4pm