Skip to main content

Subject guides

Page title

Animation, Game Art, Film and Screenwriting

Tabs

Lynda.com

Film, TV & SFX

Film industry & reviewing films

Film making

Journals, magazines & news

Film scripts

"If you want to write movie screenplays, you need to read movie screenplays – it’s just as essential as batting practice for professional baseball players. Reading in general is important, whether it’s novels, comics, or the backs of cereal boxes—even if you’re not paying attention, your brain is remembering hundreds if not thousands of subtle connections between language and storytelling". Jack Picone, New York Film Academy

Why you need to do research

Writers' hints and tips

I need to find out about...

Random details that will bring your scripts to life

Sources of inspiration

British newspapers,magazines, TV and radio

Images

Loading ...

Allie Taylor

Allie Taylor

Academic Liaison Librarian


Appointments

The Hive Level 3 askalibrarian

Sat 2 Mar 10am - 5pm
Wed 6 Mar 12pm - 4pm
Fri 8 Mar 10am - 1pm

Mon 11 Mar 10am - 1pm
Tue 12 Mar 4pm - 7pm
Thu 14 Mar 10am - 1pm

Tue 19 Mar 10am - 1pm
Thu 21 Mar 10am - 1pm


Book an appointment

Jennifer Dumbelton

Academic Liaison Librarian


Appointments

Please note I work Thursdays and Fridays only. For an appointment Mon-Wed, please contact Vee Collins.

The Hive Level 3 askalibrarian desk

Thurs 14 February: 4-7 pm
Sat 23 February: 10 am-5 pm
Thurs 28 February: 10 am-1 pm

Please email me to make an appointment outside these times.


Ask a question or book an appointment.

 

Vee Collins

Academic Liaison Librarian


Appointments

Please note I work Mondays-Wednesdays. For an appointment Thursday-Friday, please contact Jennifer Dumbelton.

The Hive Level 3 askalibrarian desk

Weds 12 December: 10 am-1 pm
Weds 02 January: 10 am-1 pm
Mon 07 January: 1 pm- 4pm
Thurs 10 January: 10am- 1pm

Please email me to make an appointment outside these times.


Ask a question or book an appointment.

 

FAQs