Skip to main content

Subject guides

Page title

School of Education

Tabs

Journals and research

Use Library Search to access our databases and journals.There are a small number of resources which will not appear in Library Search results. These include British Education Index and ERIC,  which link to the full article if we subscribe to the journal. Just ask Sarah, Jennifer or Alison for more information.

Keep up to date with the latest research

 

 

Government resources

department for education logo

Press releases, policy papers and Government documents, including Green and White Papers.

 

education in england website logo

Original source material, reports and documents, and a timeline of events since 600AD. 

Example reference: Department of Education and Science (1975) A language for life. (The Bullock Report). London: Her Majesty’s Stationery Office. Available at: www.educationengland.org.uk/documents/bullock/bullock1975.html (Accessed: 11 April 2019). 

gov dot uk logo for statistics information STATISTICS: published and upcoming official statistics in England and Wales. Focus your search by policy area, department or date.
gov dot uk logo for policy information POLICY: Press releases, news stories and research related to areas of policy. Focus your search by policy area or department.
gov dot uk logo for Ofsted information OFSTED: surveys and thematic reports for schools, focusing on specific issues and aspects, some of which may fall outside the inspection framework. For Ofsted (and other Government) publications, see this link. Most Ofsted reports can be referenced using a 'webpage' format as per your Harvard guide.

If you need to reference a school's inspection report, first you may want to check with your tutors about whether the school needs to be anonymised in your work. If you need to keep a report or any other source anonymous, you may instead use an Appendix. See this FAQ for details. 

Google logo for legislation and government custom search Google custom search for selected webpages related to Government and legislation.

Digital Education Resource Archive (DERA)

 

Digital Education Resource Archive (DERA) from UCL (Institute of Education): "a digital archive of documents published electronically by government and other relevant bodies in the areas of education, training, children and families."

Example reference: Rose, J. (2006) Independent review of the teaching of early reading. Final report. Available at: http://dera.ioe.ac.uk/5551/2/report.pdf (Accessed: 11 April 2019).

Logo for UK government web archive

The National Archives - UK Government web archive: videos, tweets and websites dating from 1996 to present. 

legislation dot gov dot uk logo Legislation including Acts of Parliament. To learn how to reference these, see this link. Acts of Parliament are a bit unusual - you don't need to cite an author, only the Act title and year in your writing. 

Looking for information on how to reference? Try:

Clickable image of referencing page link from Library Services homepage          Clickable logo for cite them right online website

Examples of in-text citations:

The Primary National Curriculum provides the framework for teachers in schools (Department for Education, 2013). 

The Department for Education (2017) recently updated the statutory framework for EYFS. 

Reference List

Department for Education (2013) The National Curriculum in England: Key Stages 1 and 2 framework document. Available at: www.gov.uk/government/publications/national-curriculum-in-england-primary-curriculum (Accessed: 11 April 2019).

Department for Education (2017) Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage. Available at: www.gov.uk/government/publications/early-years-foundation-stage-framework--2 (Accessed: 11 April 2019).

Other useful references:

Department for Children, Schools and Families (2008) Letters and sounds: principles and practice of high quality phonics - phase one teaching programme. Available at: www.gov.uk/government/publications/letters-and-sounds-principles-and-practice-of-high-quality-phonics-phase-one-teaching-programme (Accessed: 11 April 2019).

Department for Education (2011) Teachers' Standards. Available at: www.gov.uk/government/publications/teachers-standards (Accessed: 11 April 2019).

Department for Education (2014) The National Curriculum in England: Key Stages 3 and 4 framework document. Available at: www.gov.uk/government/publications/national-curriculum-in-england-secondary-curriculum (Accessed: 11 April 2019). 

Department for Education (2015) The prevent duty: departmental advice for schools and childcare providers. Available at: www.gov.uk/government/publications/protecting-children-from-radicalisation-the-prevent-duty (Accessed: 11 April 2019).

Department for Education and Department of Health (2015) Special educational needs and disability code of practice: 0 to 25 years. Available at: www.gov.uk/government/publications/send-code-of-practice-0-to-25 (Accessed: 11 April 2019).

HM Government (2011) Prevent Strategy (Cm 8092). Available at: www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/97976/prevent-strategy-review.pdf (Accessed: 11 April 2019).

Munro, E. (2011) The Munro review of child protection: final report. A child-centred system (Cm 8062). Available at: www.gov.uk/government/publications/munro-review-of-child-protection-final-report-a-child-centred-system (Accessed: 11 April 2019).

National Association of Head Teachers (NAHT) et al. (2016) Professional standards for teaching assistants. Available at: http://maximisingtas.co.uk/resources/professional-standards-for-teaching-assistants.php (Accessed: 11 April 2019). 

Websites for research

The Internet may be the only place you'll find key Government papers as well as research papers from organisations like TACTYC (the Association for Professional Development in Early Years) and NFER (National Foundation for Educational Research). We've also set up a customised Google search dedicated to research-relevant websites. 

BERA (2018) Ethical Guidelines for Educational Research. 4th edn. Available at: https://www.bera.ac.uk/researchers-resources/publications/ethical-guidelines-for-educational-research-2018. (Accessed: 16 April 2019).

Chartered College of Teaching : an 'independent chartered organisation for the teaching profession' which succeeds the College of Teachers. Materials from the Cambridge Primary Review (CPR/CPRT) have been archived and are available via the Chartered College of Teaching (membership required).  

Education Endowment Foundation (EEF) : evidence-informed decision making for teachers. Take a look at the school themes and toolkits, and their news blog. Email alerts available.

EPPI-Centre : systematic reviews and evidence to inform policy and professional practice. 

GAP (Good Autism Practice) : an academic journal available through the Ingenta site and not on Library Search. 

Mendeley : consider using reference management software like Mendeley to discover, store and organise the literature you find, read and cite. Includes the Harvard Cite Them Right style.

NFER : National Foundation for Educational Research.  Publications, research, news and blogs.  Their journal, Educational Research, is available through the library. 

Nursery World : access selected articles from this publication here (2014-present, 'Nursery World Select'). Access to our subscription is also available via the Nursery World website. If required, click 'Sign In' (top right), then 'Institution Sign In', find University of Worcester and click 'Log in' to use your usual university username and password.

Optimus Education Knowledge Centres : four knowledge centres and a regular blog. Useful for teaching and learning, SEN, safeguarding and leadership. Email askalibrarian@worc.ac.uk about login details.

PRISMA : "Transparent reporting of systematic reviews and meta-analyses". Offers an excellent checklist and flowchart for those carrying out a systematic review of the literature on a topic. 

TACTYC : Early Childhood professional association. See their Reflections papers and Occasional Papers for topical research, study and debate.

TED Talks (Education) : "These TED Talks explore the latest thinking - from teachers, parents, kids - on how to build a better school."

Education news

Education is a shifting field heavily impacted by changes in the political landscape, so keep up to date with current policy changes and research here. These news feeds cover a variety of education disciplines, including primary, secondary, early childhood and higher education.

Let the latest news come to you! 

Department for Education: Children and Young People

Loading ...

 

BBC: Education news

Loading ...

 

The Guardian : Education news (Visit the website for links to the HE Network and Teacher Network)

Loading ...

 

Education Scotland (the national body in Scotland for supporting quality and improvement in learning and teaching)

Loading ...

Inspiration for teaching

To support you with the practical side of learning to teach, we have an extensive collection of teaching resources for all subjects near the children’s library in The Hive: the Teaching Collection. Here you'll find everything from sensory blocks, flashcards and Roman helmets, to big books, storysacks and textbooks. We have a webpage dedicated to the Teaching Collection, which offers inspiration for your lesson planning and research. 

Click this link for a customised Google Search. This searches selected websites for teaching ideas and classroom resources.

Children's literature inspiration:

Are you a member of UW staff hoping to order resources for the library, or simply need some ideas? Please see our visual list of bookmarks for publishers and suppliers.

Other websites:

Academic skills support

Want to brush up on your referencing skills or work on your academic writing? A range of professional support services are available to you, including:

Library Services : our study skills pages cover finding sources, evaluating the information you find, avoiding plagiarism and referencing. Your Academic Liaison Librarians will support and guide your literature searching and referencing through booked sessions in your courses or modules, and one-to-one appointments. Please get in touch!

The University's Academic Writers-in-Residence : based at St Johns Campus, the writers-in-residence are professional, published authors and Royal Literary Fund Fellows. They offer one-to-one appointments for all students and staff aimed at improving written communication skills. Appointments are 45 minutes each, bookable via email: rlfwriterinresidence@worc.ac.uk. Appointments are available Monday-Thursday during semester, maximum three per year. 

The Language Centre : based in Jenny Lind building (City Campus, Farrier St), the Language Centre offers modules and appointments related to academic English usage and style. Book a one-to-one appointment, available Monday to Friday, 2-4pm. Students can book up to two appointments per week. The Language Centre offer face-to-face support rather than Skype or email consultations, as they have found this two-way interaction to be invaluable.

Loading ...

Jennifer Dumbelton

Academic Liaison Librarian


Appointments

Please note I work Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays only. For an appointment Monday or Tuesday, please contact Sarah or Allie (see below).

The Hive Level 3 askalibrarian desk

Fri 19 July 10am - 1pm
Thurs 25 July 10am - 1pm
 

 

Ask a question or book an appointment.

 

 

Sarah Purcell

Academic Liaison Librarian

For appointments, please email s.purcell@worc.ac.uk. I work Mondays, Tuesdays and Thursdays.

Live Chat : currently closed for summer, but you can still contact us on email askalibrarian@worc.ac.uk

Askalibrarian desk in The Hive :​ service available Mon to Fri, 10 - 4pm.

  • Tue 2 July, 1 - 4pm
  • Mon 15 July, 1 - 4pm
  • Tue 6 Aug, 1 - 4pm
  • Tue 20 Aug, 10am - 1pm

Allie Taylor

Allie Taylor

Academic Liaison Librarian


Appointments

The Hive Level 3 askalibrarian

Please email to
Book an appointment

FAQs