Skip to main content

Subject guides

Page title

School of Psychology

Databases are made up of multiple journal titles, making it easier to find many relevant articles on topic. You will need your student ID and password to access these.

The databases below are particularly recommended for Psychology students:

Tabs

Databases & journals

Referencing

For referencing information, please see our referencing page. Psychology students should be using APA style. As well as the short guides available from the Hive in print or online via our referencing pages, you can also consult the APA publication manual (6th edition) on which our guidance is based. There are multiple print copies of this in the Hive on level 3 at shelfmark 808.06615/AME. Check current availability here.

You might also want to check out the APA style blog which contains lots of useful information about different aspects of APA style.

More information can also be found on the Cite Them Right database, accessed via our databases A-Z or the link below. It is primarily for Harvard style but does also contain APA information.

Don't forget, if you are struggling with referencing please contact one of your liaison librarians for an appointment or drop in to the askalibrarian desk.

Additional resources

The resources below include some of the best web and additional subject related databases. You will need your student ID and password to access some of these.

Law resources

E-book databases

Our ebook providers are increasingly moving away from PDF format to EPUB. This means you need an EPUB reader to download them. Please read this FAQ for more information, and contact the Library if you have any queries. 

 

Grey literature

'Grey literature' describes research published in non-conventional places not indexed by the major databases. This could include material such as government reports and conference papers.

Sources of grey literature include:

Critical appraisal

When you have found some information for your assignments you will need to read, evaluate, and critically analyse them. Below are some links which may help you with this. 

Finding and managing information

For guidance on developing search strategies and managing the information you find, see our information management pages: 

Keeping a search record

It is always helpful to keep a record of your searches, and vital when you are doing a systematic literature review or large project such as your Independent Study. We have information about keeping records on our Finding Sources page as well as some useful templates to help you search for literature and keep records of your searches.

Systematic reviews

The information below may help you if you are doing a systematic review of literature. Please remember, though, that the assessment instructions and advice given to you by your module tutors always supersedes any of the guidance here, so if in doubt, follow your tutor's instructions!

What are psychological tests?

Psychological tests are tools that allow researchers to measure a particular variable (e.g. memory, intelligence, personality).

Some tests may require you to be professionally trained and accredited in order to use them. Always consult with your Academic Tutors when thinking about using Psychological tests within your work.

Finding Psychological Tests

All testing tools are considered copyrighted and you must seek permission from the copyright holder before using the tool.

Psychological tests fall into two types:

  • Published (commercially available for purchase)
  • Unpublished (usually found in journal articles or books and some may be freely available on the Internet)

All tests would be considered copyrighted so permission for the copyright holder is needed

The best place to start is to search PsycINFO (see link below) to find tests that have been appended to journal articles. You can also find journal articles about studies where a particular test has been used using the Tests and Measures field.

CINAHL (see link below) also allows you to search for tests (or ‘research instruments’)

Other useful resources for finding psychological tests

Books

Useful links

Test suppliers

When you look a book up on Library Search or your module resource list, the record will show you a number which tells you where you'll find that book in the library. You might have noticed that other books on the same topic can be found at the same number, or "shelfmark". If you want to browse the library shelves for helpful books for your studies, the list below gives you some ideas about where to look. 

This video explains more about how to find books in the library. 

Psychology - 150

150.15195 Statistics in Psychology

150.721 Psychology research methods

152 Behaviour and emotions

      152.4 Emotional intelligence

153 Cognitive psychology (conscious mental processes and intelligence)

      153.15 Learning

      153.43 Memory and reasoning

154 Subconscious and altered states and processes

155 Differential and developmental (child) psychology

      155.2 Personality psychology

156 Comparative psychology

158 Applied psychology

      158.3 Counselling psychology

      158.7 Occupational/organisational psychology

Ethics (Moral philosophy) - 170

174 Occupational/professional ethics

      174.2 Clinical/medical ethics

Social Interaction/social psychology - 302

302.35 Workplace psychology

Education - 370

370.15/370.1523 Educational psychology/learning and teaching

Forensic Medicine - 614 

614.15 Forensic psychology

Diseases - 616

616.0019 Clinical health psychology

616.85 Mental illness

616.89 Abnormal psychology

616.8914 Psychotherapy

Athletic and outdoor sport - 796

796.01 Sport and exercise psychology

Loading ...

Kathryn Devine

Academic Liaison Librarian


Appointments

The Hive Level 3 askalibrarian

Fri 12 Apr 10am-1pm
​Tue 30 Apr 4pm-7pm
Wed 1 May 10am-1pm
Fri 10 May 1pm-4pm

Tue 14 May 4pm-7pm

If you would like to book a one-to-one appointment at an alternative time, please contact me by email and I will be happy to arrange this.

Please note I am on leave from 13-22 April inclusive, and away at a conference from 24-26 April inclusive.

Ask Kathryn a question or book an appointment

 

Hannah Hickman

Academic Liaison Librarian


Appointments

The Hive Level 3 askalibrarian

Mon 18 Mar 2019 1pm - 4pm
Tues 19 Mar 2019 4pm - 7pm
Wed 27 Mar 2019 10am - 1pm
Fri 29 Mar 2019 4pm - 7pm

Ask Hannah a question or book an appointment.

 

Drop ins

Image: 3 books grouped together. Text: Library Drop In


Library Drop In

Charles Hastings, City Campus

Hannah or Kathryn will be on hand to support you with finding, evaluating and referencing information, as well as any other library queries. You are welcome to drop in or to book an appointment.

Fridays, 10am-12pm
​(Not taking place April 19th or April 26th)

Book an appointment to guarantee a consultation.

FAQs