The Teaching Collection includes kits, books and storysacks for use in a variety of educational settings. If you are looking for inspiration and practical ideas for teaching, learning and home educating, this is the place to look.
You will find the collection on level 1 of The Hive, at the 'Studio end' of the children’s library. Resources are organised into several areas: books; kits in crates; resources in bags on the rail; and big books in their own units. Within each area, resources are organised using the same system used for non-fiction books on level 3.
You can use the library catalogue to search the collection, using The Hive Teaching Collection filter found at the top of the screen, however browsing the collection in person is highly recommended.
While you are visiting, don’t forget to explore the children’s library. Here you will find picture books, early readers, children’s non-fiction, dual language books and dyslexia-friendly texts.
We are excited to add some brand new picturebooks and resources to our Teaching Collection in 2023/24! Developments to the stock and space are currently underway (November 2023). Here are some excellent links to themed booklists to inspire your learning and activities with children:
Most resources are available to borrow for a minimum of two weeks. We are currently revising the loan periods for items in the Teaching Collection to increase their availability to a range of borrower types. You can find out more about what you can borrow on Library Services' borrowing and access pages.
We welcome your suggestions for specific resources or topics to include in the Teaching Collection. For some inspiration, please use this collection of websites for suppliers and providers of educational resources.