Research databases are large collections of journal articles and other academic papers. Some cover lots of subjects (Academic Search Complete and publisher packages such as Wiley or SAGE), and others are more specialist (for example, PsycInfo for psychology or Emerald for leadership and management). Many are included within Library Search but some are not (British Education Index and ERIC being notable examples).
Open Access (OA) resources are those which are openly accessible without a subscription. Some of the resources available are excellent for reaching lesser heard voices within Education, and these are shared below.
Are you undertaking a Systematic Review methodology or 'systematic literature review'? Recommended databases include British Education Index, ERIC, Web of Science, Academic Search Complete and ProQuest (Education Database - use the 'choose databases' tab to select those you wish to search).
You can also access a range of online resources from Worcestershire Libraries, including ebooks via Borrowbox and magazines and newspapers via Press Reader, and online reference services from Oxford, The Times and more. For further information on how to access these resources as a member of staff or a student, please see our FAQs or email askalibrarian@worc.ac.uk - in some cases you may require a WCC digital library membership, which you can set up online.
Our Browzine collection offers a great visual way to browse journals in your area, build your own bookshelves, save links to articles, and explore special issues and articles in press. Here is a link to the journals categorised under Education.
There are useful organisations, journals and publications which might not be available through Library Search or research databases, and some are listed below. You may wish to investigate whether you can subscribe individually to subject associations or publications. The Council for Subject Associations directory may be useful for this.
The University of Bristol's Education Policy and Research Service (EPRS) provide the latest summaries of policy, research, reports and statistics related to education and teaching. Staff and students are encouraged to ask askalibrarian@worc.ac.uk for details on how to access summaries and toolkits from the EPRS. Please note that as from July 2024, the EPRS will no longer be available - they explain: "Over the last few years, with school and university budgets becoming ever tighter, subscriptions to the EPRS have declined. The University’s School of Education has made the difficult decision that it is no longer viable to run the service in its current form."
Department for Education (2013) The national curriculum in England: key stages 1 and 2 framework document. Available at: https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/national-curriculum-in-england-primary-curriculum (Accessed: 8 August 2022).
Department for Education (2014) The national curriculum in England: Key stages 3 and 4 framework document. Available at: https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/national-curriculum-in-england-secondary-curriculum (Accessed: 8 September 2022).
Department for Education (2023) Early years foundation stage statutory framework for group and school-based providers. Available at: https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/media/65aa5e42ed27ca001327b2c7/EYFS_
statutory_framework_for_group_and_school_based_providers.pdf (Accessed: 25 January 2024).
Department for Education (2023) Early years foundation stage statutory framework for childminders. Available at: https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/media/65aa5e29ed27ca001327b2c6/EYFS_
statutory_framework_for_childminders.pdf (Accessed: 25 January 2024).
Department for Education (2011) Teachers' Standards. Available at: https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/teachers-standards (Accessed: 6 March 2024).
The ITTECF (see below) replaces the initial teacher training core content framework (CCF) and the early career framework (ECF) from September 2025.
Department for Education (2024) Initial teacher training and early career framework. Available at: https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/initial-teacher-training-and-early-career-framework (Accessed: 4 March 2024).
Qualifications and specifications, including Business
These organisations and independent bodies conduct and share research, which informs educational policy and practice.
British Educational Research Association (BERA) focuses on the advancing of knowledge in education and sustains an educational research community. The BERA Blog and the Ethical Guidelines for Educational Research may be of particular interest to students.
Education Endowment Foundation (EEF) is “dedicated to breaking the link between family income and educational achievement”. The charity does this by summarising, sharing and generating research-informed evidence on what works for teachers and leaders.
EPPI-Centre develops methods for and conducts systematic reviews in social policy. A range of technical reports and summaries are available on the website.
National Foundation for Educational Research (NFER) offers news, opinion, and research for schools and policy-makers.
National Institute of Teaching "will boost the quality of teaching and school leadership by carrying out research, applying the insights to its professional development programmes, and sharing findings with the sector. Our programmes are designed by teachers and leaders who understand the joys and pressures of school life. We work in collaboration with schools across the country, ensuring that our findings benefit all schools, teachers and leaders."
Sutton Trust "champions social mobility through programmes, research and policy influence". Lots of research here related to cost of living, school funding, mental health, access to education and more.
TACTYC - the Association for Professional Development in Early Years - provides research, news, papers and reflections for practitioners through their website, and also their journal, Early Years.
Advance HE has a knowledge hub of resources on topics and themes across higher education.
Chartered College of Teaching works to support teachers and connect them within a research-informed community. Keep up to date through their news and blogs page. Free student membership is available to those on teacher training courses, including those on School Direct and Teach First, plus "those studying in full-time education for a degree in education or on a postgraduate programme related to education". One benefit of membership is access to Impact, a termly publication with articles and information connecting research to classroom practice.
House of Commons Library produces research and provides an impartial information service to MPs and their staff. Find the latest research, briefings and data tools here.
Independent Provider of Special Education Advice (IPSEA) is a charity that provides advice, support and training to parents, carers and professionals who work with children with SEND.
Optimus Knowledge Centres provides some videos and resources relevant to four areas, including leadership, SEN and safeguarding. Please email Ask a librarian for details on how to log in, but please be aware that we do not subscribe to all resources on the website.
Social Care Online is a database from the Social Care Institute of Excellence, including resources relevant to social care and social work.
TED Talks (Education) shares videos and discussions from experts and researchers “exploring the latest thinking on how to build a better school”.
Universal Design for Learning is "a framework to improve and optimize teaching and learning for all people based on scientific insights into how humans learn" - learn more on the CAST website, and find tips and free resources for integrating the principles of UDL into your classrooms and educational settings.
Watch Katie Novak's 3 minute video which explains 'What is UDL?' - give learners a "flexible buffet" of learning options!
The UDL Guidelines available on the CAST website, and updated in 2024, can be used to implement UDL in your learning environment.
Learning about Neurodiversity in Schools (LEANS) "introduces neurodiversity concepts, and explores how they impact primary school experiences. Importantly, LEANS shows how we can hold a positive attitude towards neurodiversity, while also recognising the challenges faced by many children in school. " Download a free resource pack for educators from the LEANS website.
The Teaching Collection in The Hive is full of resources you can use in the classroom and with your learners. If you can, please visit and explore what we have. Sit down to work with the resources, or wheel over one of our honeycomb picturebook boxes and have a browse.
You can borrow the kits and books - if you have any questions, please just ask the library team. It is situated at one end of our huge children's library, which offers picture books, children's fiction and non-fiction, books for parents and carers, early readers, board books and more. You can borrow from these collections too!
If you can, please join in with the exciting activities, exhibitions and events taking place throughout the year in The Hive.
We also hold a number of special collections available to view by appointment, including education research, children's literature and childhood.
Partnership and Transitions Liaison Librarian
Email Ros
Ask me about how to search effectively, how to evaluate sources for academic study and how to reference your sources. Contact me with any queries about our resources and services for students studying with partner organisations.