Skip to main content

2020 Worcester Business School: Business, management and finance subject guide

Content

 

Testing 123 tabs

Academic Search Complete

Multidisciplinary full text journals database

Business Source Complete

Covers all areas of business and economics

COBRA business reference advisor (access in The Hive only). During the COVID-19 crisis, online access has been made available. Go to the COBRA site and enter your card number; this must be eight digits so, if your number is shorter, insert enough leading zeros to make it up to the required length

Emerald Management 111 (Emerald Fulltext Plus) (Emerald Fulltext 2003)

Euromonitor Passport

FAME

LinkedIn Learning

An online subscription library that teaches the latest software, creative, and business skills through high-quality instructional videos

Mintel

Access to consumer market and industry reports

PsycARTICLES

 Full text collection of APA journals for all areas of psychology. Note that all content from this database is also included in PsycINFO

PsycINFO 1887-current

APA's key resource for journal articles and scholarly literature related to psychology, including occupational psychology

Scopus

Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings

SPORTDiscus with Full Text

Sport and sport medicine database including occupational health and sport business management

 

Legal databases

Hein Online

Particularly useful for the Law Journal Library, which contains back issues of journals not found elsewhere in our collections

Hein Law Journal Library libguide

Lexis Library

Use Lexis for case law and legislation

Westlaw

Use Lexis for case law and legislation

Accounting

Accounting Review

Accounting, Organizations & Society

Journal of Accounting & Economics

 

Economics

American Economic Review

Journal of Political Economy

Review of Economic Studies

Economic Journal

 

Entrepreneurship 

Entrepreneurship, Theory & Practice

Journal of Business Venturing

Strategic Entrepreneurship Journal

Entrepreneurship & Regional Development

 

Finance

Journal of Finance

Journal of Financial Economics

Review of Financial Studies

Journal of Corporate Finance

 

General management, ethics and social responsibility

Academy of Management Journal

Academy of Management Review

Administrative Science Quarterly

Journal of Management

 

Human resources

British Journal of Industrial Relations

Human Resource Management

Industrial Relations

Work, Employment & Society

 

Innovation

Journal of Product Innovation Management

Research Policy

 

International business

Journal of International Business Studies

Asia Pacific Journal of Management

World Business

International Business Review

 

Marketing and advertising

Journal of Consumer Psychology

Journal of Consumer Research

Journal of Marketing 

Journal of Marketing Research 

Journal of Advertising

Journal of Advertising Research

 

Operations and technology management

International Journal of Operations & Production Management

Production & Operations Management

Journal of Supply Chain Management

 

Organisation studies

Human Relations

Leadership Quarterly

Organization Studies

 

Organisational psychology

Journal of Applied Psychology

Journal of Occupational & Organizational Psychology

Journal of Occupational Health Psychology

Journal of Organizational Behavior

 

Public sector and health care

Journal of Public Administration Research & Theory

Public Administration Review

 

Strategy

Strategic Management Journal

Global Strategy Journal

Finding information on companies is an important part of business and management research.  It can also be vital in preparing for job application or interview.

FAME is the go-to database for company financial accounts for UK private companies with a turnover of over £6 million. Remember, some companies may not be trading as separate entities, but may be part of a larger group. If it is part of a group it may not publish individual accounts.

When choosing a company to base your assignment on, check whether we provide access to an independent company report either from Marketline (through Business Source Complete) or Euromonitor reports on the Euromonitor Passport database. These sorts of reports will help you gain an unbiased view of the company.

If you use a report written by the company, remember they will be trying to present their company in the best light. Finding an independent report will offer a more balance view.

If you are researching for a company outside the UK make sure that there is sufficient information and data available through our resources.

Business Source Complete

See Marketline within this database for independent company reports

Euromonitor Passport

Passport provides independent company reports

FAME

This is the go-to database for company financial accounts for UK private companies with a turnover of over £6 million. Some companies may not be trading as separate entities, if they are part of a group they may not publish individual accounts

Mintel

Companies House

Companies House Service

Access company information for free

Northcote

This free tool links to listed company information. It provides an archive of company reports from many companies

Yahoo Finance

Useful for share price information

Google Finance

Useful for share price information

Mergers and Acquisitions involving UK companies from ONS

BBC news companies page

The Times 100 business case studies

PublicRegisterOnline.com

Edgar (US) SEC Filings & Forms

Hoover's

 

High quality market research is rarely freely available on the internet. Mintel market reports, for example, normally cost £1,000-£2,000 each. So make the most of our subscriptions to access this vital information. These databases are widely used by marketing professionals, so getting familiar with them can give you a head start when you apply for jobs.

Business Source Complete

Euromonitor Passport

FAME

Mintel

 

Finding business case studies

Case studies are often used in business courses to illustrate management problems. They are usually written by academic institutions or professional bodies and intended to be used as teaching material. Some case studies are based on real companies; some are entirely fictitious and designed to illustrate a particular situation. ​The databases below include case studies. When you search them try adding the phrase "case studies" or "case method”. The search may also pick up articles discussing the use of case studies, so you should also look for a document type filter if available. ​

Business Source Complete

Emerald Management 111 (Emerald Fulltext Plus) (Emerald Fulltext 2003)

 

Free and fee-paying case studies

If you cannot find a case study in the Library Services resources, check these sites, but note that not all the cases will be free, may require an account, or you may have to contact the publishers directly.

The Case Centre

The Case Centre is an independent, not-for-profit organisation dedicated to promoting the case method in business education. Some cases are free, but most have a charge. You must register as a student or an educator to access content and to order case studies that have a charge

Business in the Community

Case studies showing how businesses have benefited from creating a positive impact and responsible business practice

Journal of Business Case Studies

Open access journal published by the Clute Institute in the USA. All articles are freely available

Business Case Studies

Useful for students and teachers studying aspects of business

UK data sources

UK Data Archive

UK Data Archive is a curator of the largest collection of digital data in the social sciences and humanities in the UK

UK Data Service (Census support)

UK Data Service Census Support is a service of the UK Data Service that exists to provide access to, and support for, users of the 1971-2011 Censuses of Population and related resources

Bank of England

The Bank compiles and publishes a range of monetary and financial statistics. These include domestic banking statistics, external finance statistics and international banking statistics

Data.gov.uk

Currently over 5,400 datasets available, from all central government departments and a number of other public sector bodies and local authorities

Digimap

The Economics Network

Useful source of economic data mostly freely available online from the economist John Sloman

Euromonitor Passport

FAME

The Guardian data blog

Latest data news, comment and analysis from the Guardian

Mintel

Quandl

 

International data sources

CIA: The World Factbook

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities

Euromonitor Passport

Eurostat: Your key to european statistics

Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its mission is to provide high quality statistics for Europe

OECD.Stat

Data from Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development

NationMaster

Can be a good place to go to compare data

Office for National Statistics

UK's largest independent producer of official statistics and is the recognised national statistical institute for the UK

The World bank Data

Access to data from The World Bank Group

United Nations Statistics Division 

Statistics from the United Nations

Academy of International Business (AIB)

Large international organisation for academics and lecturers in international business studies

Advertising Standards Authority (ASA)

The UK’s independent regulator of advertising across all media. They apply the Advertising Codes, which are written by the Committees of Advertising Practice

Association for Project Management (APM)

Association committed to developing and promoting project and programme management

Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA)

The global body for professional accountants

Bank of England

Central bank of the UK

UK Finance

The leading trade association for the UK banking sector

British Institute of Facilities Management (BIFM)

Professional association for those working in facilities management

British Retail Consortium (BRC)

The lead trade association in the UK which covers the whole of the retail industry

Chartered Association of Business Schools (CABS)

Describe themselves as "the voice of the UK’s business and management education sector"

Chartered Institute of Marketing (CIM)

Professional organisation representing the marketing industry

Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport (UK) (CILT - UK)

UK National Council of the global organisation CILT, which has a presence in more than 30 countries across the world

Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (CIMA)

The world’s largest and leading professional body of management accountants

Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development (CIPD)

World's largest Chartered HR and development professional body

Chartered Institute of Procurement & Supply (CIPS)

CIPS exists to promote and develop high standards of professional skill, ability and integrity among all those engaged in purchasing and supply chain management

Chartered Institute of Public Relations (CIPR)

Professional body of the PR industry

Chartered Management Institute (CMI)

Professional body dedicated to promoting the highest standards in management and leadership excellence

Confederation of British Industry (CBI)

The CBI is the UK's premier business lobbying organisation, providing a voice for employers at a national and international level

Department for Business Innovation & Skills (BIS)

BIS is the UK department for economic growth. The department invests in skills and education to promote trade, boost innovation and help people to start and grow a business

Federation of Small Businesses

The UK's largest campaigning pressure group promoting and protecting the interests of the self-employed and small business owners

Financial Conduct Authority (FCA)

Their aim is to make sure that financial markets work well so that consumers get a fair deal

Financial Reporting Council

The Financial Reporting Council promotes high quality corporate governance and reporting to foster investment. We promote high standards of corporate governance through the UK Corporate Governance Code, and encourage engagement between investors and Boards through the Stewardship Code

Frances Hesselbein Leadership Institute

Aims to strengthen and inspire the leadership of the social sector and their partners in business and government by connecting the public, private and social sectors with curated resources and relationships to serve, evolve and lead together

Greater Birmingham Chambers of Commerce

Membership-based business support organisation that exists to connect its members to opportunity. The group now comprises: Birmingham Chamber of Commerce, Burton & District Chamber of Commerce, Chase Chamber of Commerce, Lichfield & Tamworth Chamber of Commerce, Solihull Chamber of Commerce, British American Business Council, Institute of Asian Businesses, and Future Faces

Herefordshire & Worcestershire Chamber of Commerce

Member-led, not for profit organisation, working to support the local business community and specifically their network of member businesses

HM Revenue & Customs

UK’s tax and customs authority

Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales (ICAEW)

Professional membership organisation for accountancy, supporting over 138,000 chartered accountants around the world

Institute of Commercial Management

Leading professional body for Commercial and Business Development staff

Institute of Directors (IoD)

UK organisation that supports businesses and the people who run them

Institute of Leadership & Management

The UK’s largest management body combining industry-leading qualifications and specialist member services

Institute of Operations Management (IOM)

The principal UK professional society for operations management in manufacturing, service industries and the public sector

Institute of Practitioners in Advertising (IPA)

Professional body for advertising, media and marketing communications agencies in the UK

International Public Relations Association (IPRA)

International grouping of public relations practitioners worldwide. Promotes exchange of information and co-operation in every sector of the profession

Market Research Society (MRS)

The world's leading research association

National Audit Office

The NAO scrutinises public spending for Parliament. They audit the financial statements of all central government departments, agencies and other public bodies, and report the results to Parliament

Project Management Institute UK Chapter (PMI UK Chapter)

Organisation active in promoting project management to industry and government organisations

Prudential Regulation Authority (PRA)

Regulatory authority responsible for the prudential regulation and supervision of banks, building societies, credit unions, insurers and major investment firms in the UK. It is part of the Bank of England

Society for Case Research (SCR)

Facilitates the exchange of ideas leading to the improvement of case research, writing, teaching, and publication

Society for Human Resource Management

This is the world’s largest HR professional society, representing 285,000 members in more than 165 countries

Society of Professional Accountants

An independent association of some 1,200 professionally qualified accountants in small practices

The World Bank

The World Bank is a United Nations international financial institution that provides loans to developing countries for capital programs. The World Bank is a component of the World Bank Group, and a member of the United Nations Development Group

Content

Contact

Psychology, Criminology, Sport and Exercise Science, Worcester Business School

Psychology, Criminology, Sport and Exercise Science, Worcester Business School

Book an appointment


Kathryn Devine

Academic Liaison Librarian
Email Kathryn
 

 


Priya Mehta

Academic Liaison Librarian
Email Priya