Skip to main content

News

Read yourself well

by Alison Taylor on 2021-05-13T09:15:00+01:00 | Comments

Women reading in a bath

Read yourself well with help from Worcestershire libraries this Mental Health Awareness Week (10-16 May)

If you’re looking to boost your mental health and wellbeing, our Reading Well book collections are designed to do just that.

The Reading Well scheme provides accessible mental health and wellbeing information through  from Worcestershire public libraries.

These book collections contain titles recommended and endorsed by health experts, people living with mental health conditions, their relatives and carers:

  • Reading Well for Mental Health provides helpful information and support for managing common mental health conditions; or dealing with difficult feelings and experiences. Some books also include personal stories from people who are living with or caring for someone with mental health needs.
  • Reading Well for Long Term Conditions provides general advice and information to help people cope with common symptoms of specific conditions such as arthritis, bowel conditions, diabetes, heart disease and stroke.
  • Reading Well for Dementia provides information and advice for people living with dementia and their relatives and carers, as well as fiction, memoirs and photographic books used in reminiscence therapy.
  • Reading Well for Children has information and advice about understanding and managing feelings, school and online pressures, bereavement, parental mental health needs, and living well with specific diagnosed conditions and physical disabilities
  • Reading Well for Young People (Shelf Help) provides 12 to 18 year olds with advice and information about issues like anxiety, stress, OCD, eating disorders and difficult experiences like bullying, bereavement and exam pressure.
  • Reading for Health Carers Collection is a dedicated selection of titles that provides advice and self-help support for carers.


Reading Well is accessible with over 50 titles available free to download in eBook and e Audiobook formats using the BorrowBox app. Browse the titles available to download or visit the new Reading Well in Worcestershire website. UW staff and students will need to activate WCC Digital Library membership to access free ebook, eAudio and emagazine collections.


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.